January 26, 2021

Sambaad Patra

Stay updated. Always.

Shane Warne Names His Men’s Test Team of the Decade – SPORTbible

2 min read

Shane Warne has named his Men’s Test Team of the Decade – but there’s one massive, massive omission.

In the wake of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards, where the sport’s governing body announced its own team of the decade, Aussie icon Warne decided to join in with the fun.

After seeing the ICC’s list of eleven players, Australia’s all-time leading wicket taker named his own.

And while both teams remain somewhat the same, there’s one big difference that sticks out like a sore thumb.

Fellow Australians David Warner and Steve Smith made both teams, but it was a different story altogether for our English rivals.

The ICC named both Ben Stokes and Alastair Cook in their Test side of the decade.

As for Warnie’s team, Cook was nowhere to be seen.

Sir Alastair Cook. Credit: PA
Sir Alastair Cook. Credit: PA

During his career, the former England captain made 161 appearances at Test level for the Three Lions and had a batting average of 45.4 from his 12,472 total runs and 33 centuries.

Numbers worthy of an inclusion from the ICC, but not in the eyes of Warnie.

Instead, he opted for South African icon Jacques Kallis.

Credit: Fox Cricket
Credit: Fox Cricket

When explaining his decision, Warne argued that it wasn’t a case of dropping Cook but more about the idea of leaving out one of the greatest all-rounders to ever grace the game.

“I looked at all the numbers and the stats and I thought, ‘you know what, you can’t leave Jacques Kallis’ out’,” Warne told Fox Cricket.

Jacques Kallis after scoring a century. Credit: PA
Jacques Kallis after scoring a century. Credit: PA

“He’s got a very similar record to our own Ricky Ponting, who is one of the greatest batsmen of all time. How can he not be in the side?

“And if you add 290 Test wickets as well, that’s a pretty handy cricketer.

“I moved Sangakkara up to open because you’re not going to move (Kane) Williamson, (Virat) Kohli or (Steve) Smith. So unfortunately, Alastair Cook has to miss out.

“When you look at the side, does it look a stronger side with Kallis in than the first one? Yes it does, so that’s what I went with.”

Shane Warne’s Men’s Test Team of the Decade

1. David Warner (AUS)

2. Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

3. Jacques Kallis (SA)

published at5 months ago

4. Kane Williamson (NZ)

5. Virat Kohli (IND)

6. Steve Smith (AUS)

7. Ben Stokes (ENG)

8. Ravichandran Ashwin (IND)

9. Dale Steyn (SA)

10. Stuart Broad (ENG)

11. James Anderson (ENG)

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Decade

1. Alastair Cook (ENG)

2. David Warner (AUS)

3. Kane Williamson (NZ)

4. Virat Kohli – C (IND)

5. Steve Smith (AUS)

6. Kumar Sangakkara – WK (SL)

7. Ben Stokes (ENG)

8. Ravichandran Ashwin (IND)

9. Dale Steyn (RSA)

10. Stuart Broad (ENG)

11. Jimmy Anderson (ENG)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Close Bitnami banner